Buying a brand new but dated iMac, good or bad idea?

Reaction score
I currently own a MacBook that I have had for over 2 years and while it is a good computer, it is getting old and I would like a desktop in my apartment. I'm a college student and don't really want to spend over $1000 on the new iMacs. I want to buy a new iMac Core 2 Duo (Apple iMac Core 2 Duo T7200 2.0GHz 1GB 160GB DVD±RW Radeon X1600 17" AirPort OS X w/Webcam & Bluetooth Apple MA590LL/A iMac
or a new iMac G5 (Apple M9250LL/A Apple iMac G5 M9250LL/A All-in-one Desktop PC - 20-inch Display - PowerPC 970 1.8 GHz Processor - 256 MB RAM - 160 GB Hard Drive - DVD-R/CD-RW - GeForce FX 5200 Ultra - MacOS X 10.3 - 20-inch TFT LCD Display

Would it be a bad idea to buy either of these considering they are older models, even though they are new? Will they be significantly slower for the price than the new iMacs (if so, couldn't I just get a better processor?)

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
Doesn't make sense to me.

Number one, they're not new. Don't know where you're getting that idea.
Second, you want another computer because your 2 year old one is getting old and you want to purchase machines that are 4 years old for the first link and the second one was discontinued 5 1/2 years ago.

Doesn't mean the purchase is a bad idea in the case of the C2D machine. But your reasoning is inaccurate.
That C2D is probably about the equivalent of your much newer MB, but probably still a better video card in the iMac.
My kid (who's over 30) is still using that model running Tiger and CS3 and seems to be quite content with it.

I wouldn't personally buy one that old without: a) creating a backup from day 1 and b) being prepared to replace the hard drive at any time (this means understanding what it takes to replace a drive in an iMac before you buy it).

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Too many...