Newbie looking for a new internal HD for my MBP. Which one?

Reaction score
HI there! I'm rather new to the Apple world so here I am asking newbie questions.

I have a 2009 MBP and according to the apple store, the HD is bad and needs to be replaced. I'm confident that I can replace it on my own but I don't have the slightest clue on which one to get. I looked on Other World Computing's website and they offerr WD, Hitachi, seagate, and toshiba. I current havea 500gig so I either want a 500 or 750 to replace it. I also want the 7200 RPM one. So what that said. Which brand do you guys recommend. I'm aafraid that the 7200RPM ones might be too loud. Will it decrease battery life? Thanks!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
C2D 2.26 | 500GB Seagate Momentus | 2GB 1066 (soon to be 8)
7200 RPM will probably decrease the battery life by ~15 minutes.

I am using a 500GB Seagate Momentus in mine and it is not loud at all.
Brand isn't a huge deal when purchasing hard drives, and they should all come with 5 year warranties. Most people would probably recommend WD first then Segate then probably Toshiba.

The Seagate Momentus has a 750GB version in the 9.5mm height, not sure about WD, and I know Samsung has the Spinpoint in 640GB version.

And you can check the guide in my sig on how to replace the hard drive (just skip to the bottom section).

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" 2.4ghz i5 Macbook Pro
are those new hybrid drives worth it yet?

Reaction score
are those new hybrid drives worth it yet?

From a person who has owned one, there as close to SSD performance that you can get without actually getting a SSD. I still prefer the real deal over the Hybrid drive, but for its price, performance, size, it's well worth it.

CrimsonRequiem

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB
Reaction score

Yes, that is the exact one I use.