Help with choosing a Macbook!

Reaction score
I want to get a macbook pro as i am going to uni next year to study film and want to be able to edit videos. I need tech specs in detail as i'm not very good with understanding them haha. I want to be able to use final cut studio on it so it has to have a good graphics card and be reasonably fast. Not too bothered about memory as i can get an external hard drive. Please give me any help you can. :Blushing:

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
C2D 2.26 | 500GB Seagate Momentus | 2GB 1066 (soon to be 8)
I want to get a macbook pro as i am going to uni next year to study film and want to be able to edit videos. I need tech specs in detail as i'm not very good with understanding them haha. I want to be able to use final cut studio on it so it has to have a good graphics card and be reasonably fast. Not too bothered about memory as i can get an external hard drive. Please give me any help you can. :Blushing:

Graphics cards won't play a huge role in video editing. And as far as memory and external hard drive, you are referring to Hard Drive space (storage) as opposed to memory ;) You actually want a good amount of memory (RAM) for video editing.

Let me ask your budget and what size laptop you are comfortable with.

Refurbished MacBook Pro 2.53GHz Intel Core i5 - Apple Store (U.S.) This is almost ideal for you, except you would want to upgrade the hard drive yourself to a 7200 RPM drive.

http://store.apple.com/us/product/FC024LL/A?mco=MTgwOTc3MTc Here's a 17" with a higher res screen. Same specs, but again you would want to upgrade the hard drive yourself to a 7200 RPM drive.

Things you are looking for when video editing:
Fast processor. The i5 is ideal for this
High res screen.
4GB RAM minimum (the MBP's can all go to 8GB of RAM)