Adding A 2nd Hard Drive

S

Scottmatic

I am trying to install a second hard drive into my 1.8ghz powermac. After slotting the hard drive neatly into the bottom bay, the instructions i got from apple support site say to attach the powercable to the new hard drive, however I didnt get a powercable with my hard drive. Im fairly new to installing hard drives, is there a second cable located within my g5 so i can get it to work, or am I missing a trick.

Thanks a lot for your time,

Scott

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
PowerMac G4 Cube 450mhz 832mb
all you need is the IDE cable, the drive should have come with it already attached. where did you get this drive? you can usually get the cable at a computer sore. when you connect it, make sure you set it as slave, not master.

OP
S

Scottmatic

Macman said:
all you need is the IDE cable, the drive should have come with it already attached. where did you get this drive? you can usually get the cable at a computer sore. when you connect it, make sure you set it as slave, not master.

http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/prod...2hvd19wcm9kdWN0X292ZXJ2aWV3&product_uid=43707

this is the hard drive i got, didnt come with a cable just the hd itself, is that all im missing?

how do i set the drive as a slave, im only using it as backup drive for important data incase the main drive fails.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
cool drive, you can get the cable for a few dollars, compusa, radio shack, circuit city, I believe you will need a female to male cable. you can use slave or cable select, I recommend slave. you set the jumpers, the hd should have settings on it for jumpers(stoppers).

Reaction score
Macman said:
cool drive, you can get the cable for a few dollars, compusa, radio shack, circuit city, I believe you will need a female to male cable. you can use slave or cable select, I recommend slave. you set the jumpers, the hd should have settings on it for jumpers(stoppers).