Learning OS X

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I recently purchased an ibook G4 with OS X 10.5.7 installed and have since found out I cannot upgrade to Snow Leopard due to hardware incompatibilities.

Now, I bought the laptop to learn everything I can about OS X as I am an IT professional and wish to further my knowledge of OS X (So far I've only had to deal with Windows and Linux distros).

Will learning about OS X by using OS X 10.5.7 be enough to grasp a firm understanding of the inner workings of a Mac OS?

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Will learning about OS X by using OS X 10.5.7 be enough to grasp a firm understanding of the inner workings of a Mac OS?

Technically speaking...you can upgrade to OS 10.5.8 for free via "Software Update".

Otherwise (IMHO) you can learn quite a bit about OS X from OS 10.5.8. There really aren't "TONS" of differences from the latest OS of 10.6.5.

- Nick

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Back to my old 2.2GHz C2D MB after selling my MBP and wondering what my next Mac will be :)
OP
Ants473
Reaction score
Thanks for the replies guys! I'll be sure to check out those two links too.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac 2.9Ghz 16GB RAM - 10.11.3, iPhone6s & iPad Air 2 - iOS 9.2.1, ATV 4Th Gen tvOS, ATV3
Welcome Ants and to answer in short Yes it will be ... Dont know if you have your sources but just a few to get you started ...

Mac Switching 101
Mac 101
MacTricksAndTips ~ 100 Essential Mac Apps
Mac OS Keyboard Shortcuts
Mac OS Menu Bar Items
[URL="Mac downloads ~ Apple"]Mac downloads ~ Apple[/URL]

So there is a bit of reading there. As i goes for Apps we dont know what you are into, but ill list a few that most people have and you can look them up in the 100 Essential Apps URL i gave ...

Adium ~ Chat Client
Growl Notifications
SuperDuper or CarbonCopyCloner ~ Both make bootable copies of your HD
HandBrake ~ Video Converting
Burn ~ As it says A Burning App