File Vault

Reaction score
I have 13.3 MBP 09' running osx 10.6.5, after setting my master password on the mac I cannot turn on File Vault. It says I have'nt got enough space left on the disc and i need 30GB. I have over 200Gb free.

Can anyone help?

Cheers :D

Reaction score
I'm no expert but have read some very scary things about File Vault. On the other hand, it's possible to create a disk image file with a strong password for sensitive files.

M

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
Personally, would encourage you not use File Vault unless you just have absolutely top secret data on your machine. If you have never used it before, I'd suggest you spend some time reading about some of the issues with it.

If you just must have it, am guessing that the issue is one of not enough contiguos free space. Try re-booting first, see if that may possibly auto delete the cache files which could be stored toward the end of the drive. After that, you might try using iDefrag or cloning your drive to an external and cloning it back with SuperDuper or CarbonCopyCloner.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac 2.9Ghz 16GB RAM - 10.11.3, iPhone6s & iPad Air 2 - iOS 9.2.1, ATV 4Th Gen tvOS, ATV3
Welcome to the forums ...

If you have Secret Squirrel type stuff to hide then by all means run FV ... If not DONT

I had a problem with FV when i 1st started out. I had a problem with no Disk Space as i wantd to turn it off. Couldnt. In short no one could come up with a answer for me so after 100+hrs trying to figure it all out.

Now have a read of the Peoples Take on File Vault thread, and you will read my problem and the solution i came up with ...
If not for anything it is a warning to those wanting to use FV

Cheers

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Performa 6116 2GBSCSI 8MB OS 7.5.3