thinking of upgrading ....

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro 13"
hi friends,

I switched to macs last august 2009 and hardly a day has gone by without being thankful ...

i'm using a macbook pro 13" and would like to upgrade to the newer ones which were released a few months back.

1. i have done everything that i possibly could to avoid installing windows. But now a program related to my investments has come up that requires windows functionality.

I've never done anything like this before and a bit scared.

a) Is it easy to do this?

b) Are there any step by step instructions?

c) Once i install windows, will it eat up my hard drive space? I'll just b installing a small 50 mb program - dont need windows for anything else.

d) Is it easy to move between mac os and windows?

2. to move to a new mac, as i understand there are 2 ways to move my data - one is from mac to mac via firewire and the second is time machine airport express. I feel mac to mac firewire should be better, no? Am i wrong here?

Many thanks for the help and sorry if any of the questions sound too naive..

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
C2D 2.26 | 500GB Seagate Momentus | 2GB 1066 (soon to be 8)
hi friends,

I switched to macs last august 2009 and hardly a day has gone by without being thankful ...

i'm using a macbook pro 13" and would like to upgrade to the newer ones which were released a few months back.

1. i have done everything that i possibly could to avoid installing windows. But now a program related to my investments has come up that requires windows functionality.

I've never done anything like this before and a bit scared.

a) Is it easy to do this?
Yes, extremely
b) Are there any step by step instructions?
For Bootcamp it should have a PDF with it, if not I can upload the PDF for you. If you use Parallels / VMWare Fusion, they should have instructions with them.