Thinking getting a Macbook Pro (13'' or 15'')

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am new to this community, and I am currently considering buying a Macbook Pro, or otherwise a PC notebook.

I have fairly powerful desktop PCs at home and work, but I need a mobile solution that I can work with in between. I have to confess that I have no experience with any Macbook product before, but have heard many people praise about them. I intend to use the notebook for mainly word processing, programming, reading documents/emails/web pages. I rarely play games or do any heavy image/video editing, though I do use Photoshop for my photography hobby.

I am mainly looking at either the 13-inch or the 15-inch version of Macbook Pro. I think the main differences between them are two: processors and screens. Given my intended usages above, I would like to hear if it is worth the money to invest more on the relatively upgraded 15-inch version.

On the other hand, I do wonder if I would be better off (in terms of the value of money) with a PC notebook, which would be considerably cheaper and I think they are equally capable of doing the tasks I mentioned above. I understand people here love the look-and-feel and interface design aspects of Macbook products, but apart from them, can anyone outline some functional benefits that would convince me to give it a try. Many thanks.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
C2D 2.26 | 500GB Seagate Momentus | 2GB 1066 (soon to be 8)
Hi everyone,

I am new to this community, and I am currently considering buying a Macbook Pro, or otherwise a PC notebook.