Macbook Air or Macbook Pro - Apple amateur so help me please!

Reaction score
Hello everybody

I was hoping for some advice since it would be my first Apple computer. I am excited about it but it is really hard to choose between Macbook Air 13 inch (1,86 ghz - 2gb) or Macbook Pro 13 inch (2,4 ghz - 4 gb). I have looked at a lot of different reviews on the internet and I keep on changing my mind!

First of all ; is it wise to buy this type of Macbook Pro right now, or will there be an update soon?

Second ; I'm a student so I will only use the computer for basic stuff : word, powerpoint and excell (a lot of typing and making of presentations), music, pictures, internet, a little photoshop,... No gaming or designing.

Portability is important to me, but I think Macbook Pro is also easy to carry around so that's not a defining quality. I'm just wondering if maybe it is better for me to buy the MacBook Air if there's the risk of me buying an outdated Macbook Pro...

Thanks in advance for the tips and advice! And excuse me for the english, I'm not a native speaker :)

CrimsonRequiem

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB
You could go either way. The only downside to the MBA is you can't upgrade it. The MBP you can add more RAM, and more storage space.

The MBA is kind of you gotta work with what you bought and work around that.

OP
C
Reaction score
Thx for the response! But do you think it's stupid to buy a Macbook Pro right now? Is it possible that there will be updates soon? I have read about this on some websites, but I don't know a lot about computers so most of it doesn't make sense to me! :)

CrimsonRequiem

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB