iWeb - Is it for Beginners?

SKW

Reaction score
Hi!
Im totally new to the world of web design but would really find it usefull to learn. I had a play around with iWeb and everything seemed fantasitcally easy to set out for a basic site..
Its alllllll the 'other' bit im struggling with - is it easy for complete beginners to master?

Ive tried looking online for 'an idiots guide'(!) some really simple STEP BY STEP instructions would really help me understand what I need to do in what order etc - can anyone help?

Also ive grasped that MobileMe is one option to publish it to - but does this mean only people with 'MACs' can view the site?

Really welcoming any step by steps, hope you can help :D

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
Publishing to MobileMe does not preclude non-Mac users from viewing your site. Content online is platform agnostic (it'll run on any platform). Although there are some elements of the web that won't run on certain platforms, you should be fine for the most part.

As for iWeb, it is designed for people who don't know a lot about web design and want to make something quickly with relative ease. What do you mean by 'other bit'? Are you trying to do something that iWeb doesn't allow you to do?

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
As for the guides - have you checked the Help menu? There's a very good "Getting Started" video and also a very straightforward manual.

OP
S

SKW

Reaction score
Thanks,
Well the 'other bit' is basically everything else other than just the creating of the page using iweb...the getting it published up and out there parts.