Need help running perl script on Mac OS X

Reaction score
I'm completely new to Mac and just bought a Macbook Pro yesterday. I love this computer and everything about this operating system and platform in general. Here's the issue I'm having that I have done extensive research on and just don't understand the answers. Keep in mind I'm 110% new to macs!

To run a perl script on my PC computer before I downloaded ActiveState's ActivePerl program and installed it. Then I would just double click my .pl file I have saved to execute the script and it would open a dos like window and run it.

Well I transferred all my stuff over to the new Macbook Pro and now that .pl file just opens as a text file. It isn't executable anymore. What is the easiest method of running the script? I've tried a bunch of things in Terminal that I read while doing research but nothing has worked. I tried downloading ActivePerl for mac also hoping it would just recognize it and let me execute the file but that failed as well. I can't figure this out for the life of me!

Please help a brother out. I appreciate it!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2012 MBP i7 2.7 GHz 15" Matte - 16 GB RAM - 120 GB Intel SSD - 500 GB DataDoubler Mac OS 10.9
Some experimenting and I came up with this, make the script executable with chmod 700 ~/Desktop/Test.sh
Once I did that I can just drag & drop the file into the Terminal window and press enter and it will run.

OP
B
Reaction score
You already lost me. I need the "For Dummies" version of step by step what to do. I have no idea what making a script executable with chmod 700 even means. Please break this down for me.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2012 MBP i7 2.7 GHz 15" Matte - 16 GB RAM - 120 GB Intel SSD - 500 GB DataDoubler Mac OS 10.9
Okay,

#1 Open Terminal and type in chmod 700(space)(drag the .pl file here). In the end it should look like this chmod 700 ~/Desktop/hellworld.pl This step only needs to be done once.