Imac 27" negate 2nd screen?

Reaction score
Hi I am deciding between a 21.5 and a 27 inch Imac and wondering if getting a 27 inch means I wouldn't need a second screen. I do a lot of web/graphic/video/audio work and would usually use a second screen, although it wouldn't be a mac display (because they are too expensive for me) and I have found that most other screens are not as bright and crisp as the mac which can be a little annoying when you are constantly comparing it. However, if I got the 27 inch it seems to have enough real estate to not need a second display - thoughts would be appreciated!

Thanks

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
I'm a programmer and the need for real estate space on the screen is premium...at work I have my laptop screen and my 24" monitor going..and try to use as much of the space as possible..

With my 27" iMac at home..I have the resolution (2560x1440) to have 2 fairly large sized windows side by side and be quite effective..

I would suggest you head down to your local Apple store and really play around the screen sizes to see what works for you..

Regards

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
I would suggest you head down to your local Apple store and really play around the screen sizes to see what works for you..
Good suggestion.

Only you can tell us how much screen space you need. I find that I'm okay with a 21.5" screen but I recognize that there are people who would find that much too small.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Same here. We use a 22" screen which allows two pages side by side of a document to be displayed. A 27" would be better, ($$) but for now I prefer using just the one monitor rather than an extended desktop with two.

C

chas_m