Recording Skype phone calls

Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

I need to record a Skype phone call to be able to play it back and take notes. It will be an over-seas call and I and the other participant are aware we will be recording. I have never done this before and I need to know which programs to use with the iMac, or can I use something already on My Mac. Are there any free reliable programs or are there sites like photo-bucket to join where I can place and record a Skype call? I have a standard Mac, OS X version, 10.5.8.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Regards,

Scott

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini 14.3, 8.1 & 4.1, OS 13.5, 10.14, & 10.11 & 10.6; Macbook Pro 8.2, OS 10.12.
The creme-de-creme of Mac audio recording applications is arguably WireTap, WireTap Studio | Ambrosia Software, Inc., but it's costly. It can be used for any audio passing through your Mac, so consider it an investment. IMCapture wins on price!

Footnote: I tested IMCapture, and it messed with Skype badly. Skype (v 2.7.0.330) would not work at all. I used CleanApp to remove IMCapture, and it tried also to remove a heap of other valuable apps and the files (eg. .plist) that it somehow associated with IMCapture. Use IMCapture at your own risk therefore.

Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

I need to record a Skype phone call to be able to play it back and take notes. It will be an over-seas call and I and the other participant are aware we will be recording. I have never done this before and I need to know which programs to use with the iMac, or can I use something already on My Mac. Are there any free reliable programs or are there sites like photo-bucket to join where I can place and record a Skype call? I have a standard Mac, OS X version, 10.5.8.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Regards,

Scott

I recommend this article: How to Record Skype Into Garageband With SoundFlower and LineIn - wikiHow

However there are a couple of tweaks I made.