Backlight problem on MacBook HELP!

Reaction score
Hi,

I have a 2008 MacBook (A1181) and am having one issue that I can't seem to figure out. A few weeks ago, the backlight started giving me problems. Specifically, it would shut off. Apple wanted $300 to fix it and I'd rather just get a new computer at that point, so I thought I'd try and fix it myself. If I break it, oh well.

Anyway, I ordered a new backlight inverter board and an inverter cable, but the problem persists. If I leave the computer alone completely, the backlight turns on after about a minute of sitting at the login screen. However, as soon as I touch a key/move the mouse, it shuts off. If I wait again, it comes back on a minute or two later, but then the same thing happens.

I've tried an external keyboard and have gotten the same results.

Any ideas at all what could be causing this? Or is the hardware just messed up?

Reaction score
Possibly softwawre or firmware?

I'm a Mac newbie, but it smells to me like it may be a software or firmware problem judging by the symptoms you describe.
I suggest you try a post on the OS forum.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
The reason Apple wanted $300 to replace the backlight is because it's a difficult repair requiring quite a bit of labor. The entire LCD casing has to be disassembled. Your trouble is not with the inverter, it's the CCFL tube that's bad. The inverter feeds it AC power which in turn lights the CCFL that provides the back lighting for your LCD.

Recommended repair for a bad backlight is to replace the entire LCD assembly. It's actually less work and only costs a bit more. See the entire procedure at iFixit: The free repair manual.

OP
G
Reaction score