2007 Macbook 2.0 vs 2007 iMac 24" 2.16

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am new, and I purchased my first mac over the summer. I loved it.

It was an iMac, the first 24" model. I nabbed it for only $220 because the old owner's HDD failed and he thought it was totally broken.

I recently purchased a Macbook to fix up. It is a 2006-7 2.0Ghz model. I believe it is the earlier one, the non SR one. I am sure it is the 2.1 version.

I realize I cannot keep both (money is tight). I was wondering which would you sell? I do low to heavy photoshopping (amateur photography) and usually use lightroom. I like the 24" to work with, but honestly as a student, I do not have the time to shoot anymore.

I believe the two models are these:
iMac "Core 2 Duo" 2.16 24-Inch Specs (Late 2006 - 24", MA456LL, iMac6,1, A1200, 2111) @ EveryMac.com
MacBook "Core 2 Duo" 2.0 13" (White/06) Specs (Late 2006, MA700LL/A, MacBook2,1, A1181, 2121) @ EveryMac.com

Thanks in advance

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
G4 Cube 450MHz, MacBook Air 11" 2013, iMac 21.5" i3, iPad 1,1 32GB
As a student, I can definitely see your problem! Having said that, I'd probably live off bread and water to keep my Macs! :[

I think members of this forum can't really answer this question for you. It really does depend on your circumstances. Factoring in the issues:

Portability - Laptop vs Desktop - do you need to take your laptop to college, university etc? If so, you'd be better holding onto the MacBook.

Performance - what sort of day to day programs do you require? The iMac will have a greater upgradability. If you're a history student like me, the most you'll need is Pages or Word. E.g. You could sell your MacBook and buy a cheaper PowerBook that would be able to be a cheap workhorse. So you wouldn't lose the flexibility of the desktop/ laptop system you have at the moment, yet still have change.