taking out Lombard's hard drive??

C

catchawave

Is this a complicated task? I have a dead Lombard which I am selling for parts basically (it's got new 384MB worth of memory) but I want to take out the hard drive so none of my info is on it.
I called every place that is around me and they want to charge me 50.00 or more to take it out.
Can I do this myself? If so, can someone walk me through this.
I took the thing in for someone to put the memory in -- I was too chicken to do it myself.
But now that it's dead - I don't think I could do much more damage :)
I don't even know where it is!
Thanks --

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Aluminium Macbook 2.4 Ghz 4GB RAM, SSD 24" Samsung Display, iPhone 4, iPad 2
Why don't you just wipe it clean? Boot off a system disk and select the 'secure erase' option in Disk utility...

It writes over every sector like 8x with random 1's and 0's so it it is extremely unlikely that anyone can retrieve the information.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook: 2GHz, 2GB RAM, 120GB HD; PowerTower Pro (300MHz G3 clone): 608MB RAM, 10GB HD
catchawave said:
Is this a complicated task? I have a dead Lombard which I am selling for parts basically (it's got new 384MB worth of memory) but I want to take out the hard drive so none of my info is on it.
I called every place that is around me and they want to charge me 50.00 or more to take it out.
Can I do this myself? If so, can someone walk me through this.
I took the thing in for someone to put the memory in -- I was too chicken to do it myself.
But now that it's dead - I don't think I could do much more damage :)
I don't even know where it is!
Thanks --
search www.xlr8yourmac.com I think they have a how-to guide.