Photoshop elements, aperture, or lightroom?

Reaction score
So, I just got a new 17" Mbp, core i5 moving from windows 7. I'm a photo hobbyist, but my image editing has remained in the organizing and basic editing areas of photoshop elements and picasa. I'd like to take my skills to the next level, pick a program and learn to use it in depth. Aperture and lightroom seem to be a matter of preference, but I'm not sure of what they offer in comparison to Photoshop elements. Given their prices, I assume that aperture and lightroom are more capable, but from reading various reviews, I'm not sure of how they're more capable because they're compared to each other typically.

I lean toward lightroom because I've read that aperture is a resource hog. I guess what I'm asking is: what does lightroom offer over Photoshop elements? Or are they fundamentally different programs that should be used in conjunction? I can afford either one, but I would like to focus my time and learning investment in one program for now. I hope that this isn't too confusing of a question. :)

Thank you!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Dual 1.8ghz G5 5.5gb RAM
I've been a photographer for 25+ yrs, Photoshop user for 12+, digital shooter for 10, using RAW exclusively for 7.
I think lightroom is the best software ever. I rarely even use Photoshop anymore. That said if you're not shooting RAW (you should) neither LR nor Aperture is for you.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 24-inch 3.06GHz
I have been using Aperture for a few months now and it is working well for me. Can't compare to Lightroom, but from all I've heard I'm sure I could live happily with it as well.

RavingMac

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
16Gb Mac Mini 2018, 15" MacBook Pro 2012 1 TB SSD
I use Photoshop Elements and Aperture 3.0. Still learning both.