Filevault Issues

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
17" MacBook Pro. 2.66GHz. 8GB RAM. 256GB SSD. Hi-Res Antiglare Display
My daughter is running OSX 4.11 (on a G4 iBook) and she is having a issue trying to decrypt her Home Folder. Every time she tries to do this task, she gets a dialog box that states there was a 'Error' in the decrypt and that Filevault will remain ON. Her iBook then restarts. The reason she was trying to decrypt her Home Folder is because one of her classmates told her the reason her backup's (especially iTunes) freezes is because of Filevault. Not sure if this true? She tends to believe it may be since she never had backup issues prior to turning on Filevault. Is there a way we can decrypt the Home Folder? Hopefully if there is way to do this this, she won't have system issues after the fact.

I've been using Mac's since late 2001 (Jaguar) and never turned on Filevault because I knew people said to stay away from it. Had I known she was going to do this, I would have told her no!

If anyone has a answer, we would both appreciate your efforts.

Thanks just the same,
Mad_Man

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac 2.9Ghz 16GB RAM - 10.11.3, iPhone6s & iPad Air 2 - iOS 9.2.1, ATV 4Th Gen tvOS, ATV3
My advice is if you havnt got secret squirrel stuff to hide from the outside world STAY AWAY from it all together... I have been in your situation and if you read this thread Peoples take on file vault and see what had to do. It would be very long winded to rewrite so read it and particularly the last couple of posts for my solutions .... Any particular questions post back and to see how you went ... Hope it helps :)

Cheers

OP
Mad_Man
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
I think my headache just intensified.

She has 32.8GB available on the internal HD (23.4Gb used). She also has 61.34GB available on her OWC On-The-Go (80GB) ext HD.