Mac Mini purchase turned into disaster.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini 2010 2.4 GHz 2gig RAM 320gig HD
I'm new to the Mac World though not new to PCs. After doing all the research including advice on the switchers sub forum I have finally bought my Mac Mini. Looks apart it has turned into something of a disaster. Within about 10 minutes of first boot the monitor a 24" Benq suddenly lost it's connection with the Mini. I say the monitor, the real suspect is the Mini. It started with a momentary loss - symptom screen goes totally blank apart from white noise (just like a TV that's not tuned to a station). After a short time, probably 30 seconds it flickered back into life. Since Tuesday (when I purchased the Mini) the problem has got worse and worse until this evening when I have lost the picture completely apart from a momentary flicker back into life. I am using the mini HDMI to DVI adapter and all the connections are tight. I have checked the memory modules just to make sure they were seated correctly and everything seem to be OK in screen setup. Anyone have any ideas before I have to return the unit which will have wasted two days of me setting everything up as I wanted it. Given what the Mini cost me I'm less than impressed with what has happened and have to question Apples QC.

Just to add injury to insult my HP All-in-One can no longer scan to OCR as that has an error with it to which HP don't appear to have a fix.

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Do you have another computer to test the monitor on?

Exactly what Model is the Benq monitor? I have in the past ran into issues with low cost flat panel displays using DVI and many ATI video cards.

It's not the memory on the Mini. If that was the case the mini would not even post.

OP
J
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Do you have another computer to test the monitor on?