Do these webpages work on Mac? They aren't for me...

pbb

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm very new to Macs, so it may be that I am making mistakes.

I was trying out two demo pages on a MacBook Pro (OS X Snow Leopard), the producer guaranteed me they work on a Mac, but I can't get them to work (at least not fully).

The pages are at http://media01.smartcom.no/Microsite/smartcomtv.aspx?eventid=4837 and http://www.regjeringen.no/nb/lyd_bilde/tv.html?id=600200

The first page uses Microsoft Windows Media and is supposed to show a slideshow in synch with the video. While Flip4Mac works great by showing the video (in it's own QuickTime window), the slides won't change for me. I have a feeling this would not be possible either, but since the producer states the page is fully functional on a Mac, could somebody with more knowledge tell me if I am doing something wrong?

The second page is mainly a Flash element. However, no matter how hard I try, I cannot get the videos to play on a Mac. Just nothing happens when I click the play arrow. This one has got me puzzled more, but maybe the video inside the Flash file is still using a Windows-only codec? Again, could someone more at home on a Mac please confirm that the videos won't play?

Thanks a lot for any help! Even though I am not the best Mac-user, I want to at least make sure we create stuff that can be used by Mac-users!

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
I got the second page to work OK but the first one gives me an error: "Missing Plug in". Yeah, looks like you're missing codecs. You might need to download Flip4Mac and Perian. Install them and try again. Both are free.

OP
P

pbb

Reaction score
I do have Flip4Mac and Perian installed, I even re-installed them.