Macpro upgrade - is it worth it?

Reaction score
Thought I'd better get some help with this one....

It's time to upgrade my work machine and the budget I have will allow for me to purchase the 2.8 ghz Quad Core 2010 update MacPro machine.

I'm currently running an Ealry 2009 2 x 2.8 ghz Xeon (not nehalem) Quad Core octo MacPro with 8gb ram and the radeon ATA 2600 graphics card.

I'm a straight up graphic designer by trade so no excessive power required for film editing or music etc.

My question is, will the new 2.8 nehalem have better processing/graphics power and any noticeable speed bumps as it is only a quad core as opposed to my current octo?

Basically there will be a new start in the office and the decision needs to be made to either keep the machine I'm running (meaning zero hassle or swap over of accounts and files) or to take the hassle and switch the new machine!

Any help much appreciated :)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
G'day and welcome to the forums.

Well I guess the company auditor will have some input as you will have to consider things such as depreciation, trade in value etc but from a working viewpoint suggest staying where you are as the machine is extremely respectable.

Reaction score
Thought I'd better get some help with this one....

It's time to upgrade my work machine and the budget I have will allow for me to purchase the 2.8 ghz Quad Core 2010 update MacPro machine.

I'm currently running an Ealry 2009 2 x 2.8 ghz Xeon (not nehalem) Quad Core octo MacPro with 8gb ram and the radeon ATA 2600 graphics card.

I'm a straight up graphic designer by trade so no excessive power required for film editing or music etc.

My question is, will the new 2.8 nehalem have better processing/graphics power and any noticeable speed bumps as it is only a quad core as opposed to my current octo?