How to file photos imported into Mac

Reaction score
As a Mac newbie, I've decided to load some (but not all) of the digital photos I had stored on my PC onto my new Mac. I am having a hard time figuring out where to put them within the Mac's filing system (Snow Leopard, MacBook Pro). In the PC world, photos are stored in a folder called Photos, with subfolders arranged either automatically when they're downloaded, or manually when the user creates subfolders. But when I open the Pictures folder within Documents in my Mac, there's a folder called iPhoto. Clicking on it starts iPhoto, but I cannot drag photos into the iPhoto folder, nor can I create a subfolder within iPhoto. Where shall I place my photos? In the same folder as iPhoto? In a subfolder? Should I create lots of subfolders? I guess it's confusing because Apple puts a *program/application* (iPhoto) into what seems to me to be a *document* folder, leaving me confused as to exactly where my documents (in this case, digital photos) are supposed to go. The video and the help files within iPhoto are no help, nor is the Help found in the Finder.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15.4 Macbook pro 2.54 GHz i5, 4GB ram, 500 GB HD 5400 rpm. iPod Touch 32 GB
I understand I just switched recently. Just import all your picks in iphoto you can categories your photographs later in the events portions of iphoto. If you want to locate the pictures in iphoto I usually open iphoto and right click on a picture and locate file. From there you can see each photo in iphoto and copy any pics to your desktop of you need them individually for some reason. Hope that helps.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 17"(2.8 ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4 GB mem), 21.5" Imac, 15" MBP (2.4 ghz) all running ML