Urgent help with moving program folders please

Reaction score
HELP PLEASE WITH MOVING PROGRAM FOLDERS Parallels

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I'm new to mac and to this forum (not even sure how to post a new thread) but having problems as follows:

I bought my daughter a Macbook for uni as she is doing Graphic Design, and have set it up with Parallels 5 and Windows XP so she can still use Word, Coreldraw, etc.

I noticed that the main Parallels folder containing Windows XP was put in My Documents folder and, being worried she could delete this by mistake, I created a new folder in my documents called Do Not Delete and dragged the Parallels folder into it. BIG MISTAKE... then a message came up saying the link to Windows XP had been lost and it was shutting down. I still had a screen up and could see the new folder and click on that folder and see the Parallels file in it but couldn't find a way to put it back. There doesn't seem to be an UNDO function (tried CMD+Z and Control+Z - no good). Spent AGES on the internet trying to find something that would help, worried that if I shut down the Macbook I would lose the link.

Anyway, I clicked on something and realised that it had created a second folder called Windows XP(1) in the Virtual Machines list and the first one was not functional any more (?). OK, so I just needed a shortcut link on the desktop and then I could close it down. There seemed to be no option of making an alias. So I dragged it onto the desktop thinking it would create a link, but it has PUT THE WINDOWS XP PROGRAM ON THE DESKTOP, not a shortcut. It also changed the name to Windows XP(1)(1), so now I have 3 machines listed in my Virtual Machines list - ? Windows XP, ? Windows XP(1) and Windows XP (1)(1), although only the latter is functional.