New Mac Owner Having Misc Problems with Pages...

Reaction score
Hi,

As the title states I'm new to the Mac world, and I'm slightly confused with the save options in Pages.

My work is word processor-based, and my clients all use Word, which is no problem thanks to the iWorks compatibility.

The problem I'm having is with saving. With Word you "Save as..." and from then on it's just a case of ctrl+s for the quicksave option.

When I do this on Pages, it brings up the "Save as..." option every time I press ctrl+s. Is there an quick save option that I'm missing? Could it be that I'm converting it to .doc too soon and I should wait until the job is done before I convert?

Also, the Spellcheck is causing me some issues, as I primarily use British English, but for some reason it keeps changing it to US English without my prompting.

I realise that these are probably super-easy problems to solve, but they are causing me some grief... learning curve and all that O:)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Dual 1.8ghz G5 5.5gb RAM
When you "save" a pages document it saves it as a
Pages document. The only way (I know of) to get a .doc is "save as" (saving a separate copy) or "export".
As for the dictionary try going to system preferences > language & text > input sources.... Then check the British box.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
This is (in my opinion) a serious shortcoming when using iWork Pages or the other applications from the suite. As Fodge pointed out, the only way to get MS Office compatibility is to use the "save as" function every time you create a new document. Apple for some unknown reason does not allow that particular setting to be locked in as a "default setting".