How can I record voice and instruments (like guitar/piano) on my Macbook Pro?

Reaction score
Hi, I got a macbook pro 13.3 inch this year for the main reason of using it for songwriting and music in general. Unfortunately, I have no idea what hardware to use or buy. My built-in mic is no use because i wanna record things such as electric guitar, and piano. I know the Line 6 POD is good for recording guitar, but does a similar thing exist for instruments (including voice) in general? Should I use a pre-amp such as Behringer? Yes i know, i'm a complete amateur in music hardware. Any help is appreciated :)

Reaction score
Hi, I got a macbook pro 13.3 inch this year for the main reason of using it for songwriting and music in general. Unfortunately, I have no idea what hardware to use or buy. My built-in mic is no use because i wanna record things such as electric guitar, and piano. I know the Line 6 POD is good for recording guitar, but does a similar thing exist for instruments (including voice) in general? Should I use a pre-amp such as Behringer? Yes i know, i'm a complete amateur in music hardware. Any help is appreciated :)

Hi there,

Well did you manage to do your recording? I am on the point of getting myself a MACBOOK Pro 13 inch too but I'm worried about the speed of the internal hard drive (5400 RPM) compared to 7,200 RPM for IMAC or MAC Pro!! I believe that with that speed of Hard drive, I will have some problems with bigger projects of 30 tracks for ex....But I want to know what the users here think about this!!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBookPro 11,2 <--DAW!!!
Hi there,