Few Concerns Of A Recent Switcher

Reaction score
Hey guys. Long time lurker, first time poster here. My concern is a bit long-winded, so I hope you can bear with me and address my issue.

I bought a second-hand first gen Macbook in April with the intent of using it for school. I was a bit iffy about at first, but I discovered the switch from PC to Mac isn't so bad. The optical drive was ruined when I first bought it, but I invested in a new one. Now I want to upgrade my hard drive from 80GB to 320GB and upgrade my RAM to 2GB so I can install Snow Leopard.

My concern is whether or not this will be good enough for what I intend to use it for. Like I said earlier, this is for school and I don't intend to play any games on it (I'll leave that up to my desktop PC.) I'm an artist and photographer, so the only real heavy duty program I intend on using is Photoshop, possibly CS5.

So long story short, my question is: Should I keep the macbook I have now and spend the remaining $130 to upgrade it to my liking, or sell it and use the money towards purchasing a newer model?

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15-inch Early 2008; Processor 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo; Memory 4 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM; 10.7.5
Honestly speaking, I wouldn't want to run PS on that machine. Especially not CS5. How much do you think you could sell it for ? I know you're a student so money isn't just pouring from your pockets, but what I would do is keep the MacBook for portable use and general school stuff, and save up for a new 21" iMac.

Otherwise, I'd sell it and get an Macbook Pro if for nothing else than being able to put 8 gigs of RAM in it. Remember, 4 gigs and under isn't utilizing the 64bit architecture of the OS, so there's no real advantage of using an 64bit application. But 6 or 8 gigs of RAM, and you're rockin' nicely without worry that PS is going to use up all your memory or even run out!