Want to switch and would appreciate model advice

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini 2010 2.4 GHz 2gig RAM 320gig HD
Hi everyone, I'm new to this particular forum. I am looking to switch to a Mac. This is a decision I have thought about for a great deal of time having been a Windows user since the very early nineties.

The problem for me hence this post is just what sort of Mac to go for. I'm not looking for someone to make the decision for me but would welcome a consensus of others views.

Now to my requirements - hate Laptops so MacBook is out right at the start and please no one try to persuade me otherwise on that one.

Current position - I don't own a video camera so video editing is not required, I also do not play games and never likely to either. I do plenty of Internet browsing, use iPlayer (when my Internet connection will allow without constant buffering :Angry:) manage my photos, lots of email using Outlook with iMap, iTunes for my music and last but not least Office applications, I often work from home so good office apps essential.

It would be my intention to reinstall Vista on my current PC and use the retail copy of W7 to install on the Mac and dual boot (just in case I need it). I'm not sure at this stage whether I would purchase iWorks (depends on compatability with Windows programmes) or MS Office for Mac or install my Enterprise edition of MS Office on the Windows partition. Require a reasonable amount of storage.

Current machine - Windows 7 Quadcore 3 gig of RAM and twin 500 gig HDs though I just use one as the slave and keep it for backups only, NVidia graphics ViV machine and a 20" widescreen monitor with glossy finish. I realise that this machine is a bit over spec'd for what I use it for but the price was good.

I think that's a pretty comprehensive list for anyone to work from. Given that Mac's are not exactly budget end of the market I would be looking to get some years of good service from whatever I end up purchasing.

cwa107