1.8 GHz CPU's on a 2.0 GHz Logic Board

Reaction score
I took apart a broken 1.8 GHz Powermac, and built all the parts on a 2 GHz Logic Board.
Now the thing won't start up, the screen stays totally black, I hear the HDD spin up, the superdrive starts up, the fans start up at low speed, so I guessed the logic board is ok.
What I did so far, apart from spending hours searching the fora was, replace the RAM, replace the videocard for a brand new one, swap the hdd, rested the pmu, couldn't reset the PRAM 'cause the keyboard doesn't work, still the result at boot stays the same.
So I was wondering, maybe it isn't possible to place the 1.8 GHz CPU's on a 2.0 GHz board, can anyone tell me ?

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
I think you answered your own question based on the amount of work you did and the results. I'm not an expert on the Powermac nor do I own one, however, I have seen other posts similar to yours and to my knowledge, no one has successfully done a "brain" transplant.

In a nutshell, there are too many variables and too much that can wrong when trying to swap a logic board from one model to a different one.

Regards.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
In a nutshell, there are too many variables and too much that can wrong when trying to swap a logic board from one model to a different one.

Regards.

Great post! This is exactly what I was thinking when I read this post earlier today.

The main issue or question from the OP seems to be "can dual 1.8ghz processors work on a 2.0 ghz board" (which I assume means that the motherboard originally had dual 2.0ghz processors on it)...I don't think that there necessarily is such a specific thing as a "2.0ghz motherboard".