Just picked up a used mac...

Reaction score
Hey guys, im still new to this whole mac thing...
i just picked up a used mac pro... 1.83 dual core 2 gig memory... the machine is in great shape, matter of face im typing this on it now... lol
i have 2 questions im hoping someone can help me with...

1- i want to update from tiger to snow leopard. can i use any snow leopard instal disc to do this? my brother has a mac with snow leopard, can i use his install disc on mine??

2- i plugged in a hd via usb that i use all the time on a pc. it holds my music (im a dj) the mac says there is a problem and wants to go through this whole process of repairing the drive. should i let the mac do this? will it affect my music files when i use the hd on a pc again??

thanks in advance for the help...

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
1. It must be a retail copy of Snow Leopard ($30). Your brother's is likely a restore disc and those are tailored to the machine they're sold with.

2) What is the exact dialog? Most likely that external HD is formatted in NTFS. Although the Mac can read that file system, you'll need an aftermarket driver to write to it. I'd be really surprised if the Mac could repair it, are you sure it's not prompting to "initialize"?

Before you do anything with it, I'd connect it back to your Windows machine and run a disk check. You can do this by right-clicking the drive in My Computer, click Properties, under Error Checking, click "Check Now" and allow Windows to make any repairs it suggests. When finished, eject the drive from My Computer, by right-clicking on it and choosing "Eject". Then you can safely disconnect the drive without risking damage to the file structure.

OP
S
Reaction score
@cwa - thanks for the quick response... So i can go to the apple store buy the 30 dollar snow leopard disc and upgrade my os x 10.4.11 straight to snow leopard??? Wow...