failed RAM upgrade attempt, help?

tjb

Reaction score
hello. i have one of those old blue G3 Power Mac's from quite a while back and buying a new computer really isn't an option for me at the moment. What happened is that this computer had 512mb ram and i had apparently foolishly decided that it should have 1gb. it had 4 card slots so i figured "whatever!" right?

Well.... since then i've removed the 2 cards that i had previously inserted and its back down to 512 but when i power it on, it sounds like everything is whirring properly inside, but the screen wont come on. i tried the whole "p-ram" reset thing that i heard about somewhere but to be honest with everyone. im VERY new to Mac computers, in fact, i'm quite a PC user attempting to convert into mac's and i'm very confused.

i dont even really believe that i did the p-ram thing right, any assistance you could give me would be golden, and thank you in advance.

Addition: I suppose i should also put that i don't know if the ram that i have in it is actually PC or MAC ram or if it really matters, did i mess up my motherboard by trying to put in too much ram?

Is there a way that i can distinguish PC from MAC ram by any kind of model number on the hardware?

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
You reset the PRAM by holding Command+Option+P+R keys down all at the same time after the startup sound and keep them down till you hear 2 more startup sounds.

The Blue and White Powermac G3 takes PC100 SDRAM. Each slot will accept a 256 Meg PC100 stick. 512 Meg sticks will not work.

Do you know what RAM sticks you inserted?

I just worked on a G3 B&W that had dirty RAM slots. I cleaned them out with some electronic cleaner and by inserting and taking out the RAM a few times, and it came alive. Also be sure your PRAM Battery is not dead. It should be 3.6 Volts DC.