Took apart MBP 13" to clean keyboard spill, now display not working

Reaction score
Hello,

Thanks to anyone who can provide assistance to this problem. This post might be a little long, because it is the result of a long 12 straight hours of my life. I am experienced in PC repair, not too much on laptops though. And this is my first time using apple computers ever.

A couple of weeks ago I bought a new refurbished Mac Book Pro Unibody 13" (the new model that can output Audio via HDMI).

Yesterday, while at the office, I accidentally tipped over a cup of orange juice right into my keyboard. Yes, it was Friday the 13th. Coincidence?

The laptop shut off when this happened, and I tipped it upside down to drain out some of the liquid. After wiping it up as much as I could with paper towels, I took the laptop home and dried it out with a hair dryer for 20 minutes, did a little more cleaning, then turned it on.

To my astonishment, it turned on and it seemed all the ports were working, the only issue seemed to be the keys were a little sticky, and the backlighting was off.

Reading posts here and across the internet, it recommended I disassembled the MBP to ensure that any leaked orange juice is cleaned up so it would not corrode the unit, reducing the life span. Plus, the keys were sticky and I wanted to clean up as much as I could.