Thinking about switching to mac, would love some help

Reaction score
Thinking about switching to mac

Hello !

My name is John and I recently joined this forum since I'm seriously thinking about switching to a mac and have a lot of questions :)

Apologies in advance if I posted in the wrong section.

I work as a concept artist for the gaming industry, and I use Photoshop all of the time, you can see some of my art on my online portfolio here: John Wallin Liberto, on-line portfolio

I've always bought the latest hardware for my PC, and it's so difficult to keep up with all the new graphic cards and whatnot, it's got 4 SSD's in Raid 0, and all that, I won't go into PC details, after all, this is a MAC forum.

Whatever I buy for it, I get the feeling of chaos and I'm starting to get irritated by all the different logos on all my stuff, and even though it's a very good machine, it acts up on me now and then and I get to spend hours fixing it.

A week and a half ago, my 2nd child was born, and I guess that was the final reason for deciding that I do not have the time or patience to keep up with my PC issues. I also saw that there's a bunch of new macs coming, the new 12 core for example, as well as a beautiful 27" display, which I would have to get a 200 $ adapter to work on my PC

I work with very heavy photoshop files. My main tools in photoshop is of course, the brushes. After working as an illustrator for nearly 10 years this way, I've understood that the brushes in photoshop are very cpu hungry, as well as the files require fast drives and loooads of RAM.
Even though I use 3D sometimes, I work almost all the time in "2D"

I'm giving you all this info because I have a couple of questions about how photoshop works on Macs.

I go to mac stores but they all have "empty" macs and I can't do anything else but look around the desktop, clicking the calculator etc, so I don't know what Mac I should get for my needs, I know I need one though :p