Imac Purchase = Need Help

Reaction score
My current Mac is a
2007 MBP
Intel Core Duo 2.2ghz
4gb Ram
Nvidia 8600 128mb
7200 rpm HD

My computer runs flawless and has never had any problems but it's time for an upgrade. My profession is Recording HD Video and editing on Final Cut Pro. I would like a faster computer to help with rendering times, effects and just overall better performance. Ideally I would love to get the new MBP 17" but that is out of my price range. I have a budget of $1500-$1600 Max and that is with me selling some blood and half of my kidney ( :cool:)

So in actuality I would like to keep it around Max $1300-1450. Now with all of that out of the way, which would be a better computer than the one I have now and worth the $$

Looking at the Apple Refurbished Store here are my thoughts

$1529 + tax
iMac 27" Quad Core i5 2.66ghz
Refurbished iMac 27-inch 2.66GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i5 - Apple Store (U.S.)

$1529 + tax
MacBook Pro 15.4" i5 2.4ghz
Refurbished MacBook Pro 2.4GHz Intel Core i5 - Apple Store (U.S.)

Or should I just go with the new released iMacs ( Base Model )
$1399
imac 21.5" 3.06ghz i3 with 8gbs of ram
Configure - Apple Store (U.S.)

So yeah these are my thoughts so please help me out anyone. Is the new i3 iMac worth it or should I just get the older imac which has a quad core i5 for like $200 more even though it's refurbished? At the end of the day any of these computers will be faster than my Core 2 duo 2.2ghz MBP. What I will miss from my MBP is the pcmi slot which I use for memory cards, esata, more firewire etc.

THANKS

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
You mentioned being interested in a new Macbook Pro & the 27" iMac.

I think that you first need to decide whether you need the portability/mobility of a laptop. Once you make that decision...choosing a new computer will be much easier.

HTH,

- Nick

OP
T
Reaction score