Buying MacBook Pro, what do I need

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" MacBook Pro, iPhone 5
OK

So, I am looking at buying a new MacBook Pro (I have an old white one), but got a bit confused. I am a web designer, so speed is everything. I need it to be able to run Photoshop, Illustrator, Dreamweaver, FTP, and Safari.

Here is what I am buying so far:

13" MacBook Pro
500GB HD
8 GB RAM
2.4 Ghz

Now, here's the problem. Should I be buing a 2.66 Ghz computer with 4 GB RAM, or a 2.4 Ghz with 8GB RAM (like it is now). I'm not super familiar with what Ghz are, so if you could give me your best suggestion, that would be great. I would get both, but am pressed for time, so can only afford one of the other.

Thanks!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac 2.9Ghz 16GB RAM - 10.11.3, iPhone6s & iPad Air 2 - iOS 9.2.1, ATV 4Th Gen tvOS, ATV3
Mate if you have the extra $ if you go to  refurb stores you can pick up the new 15" i5 and would be better suited to your needs. You say speed is everything, so if you have all those Apps open at once, yes it will all work but your speed want be up there. The new 15" or 17" have dedicated graphics so you will be getting a lot better response to your Apps ??

Just a thought here is a link Refurbished MacBook Pro 2.53GHz Intel Core i5

Cheers

But there isnt a significant difference with the Ghz... If you have the $ go for the greater of the two.

Reaction score
my opinion is that 8gb of ram is A LOT. Only place I could see someone having use for it is if they edit looong HD videos. I'd say you would be better of with a faster processor (2.6ghz) and 4gb of ram which is pleeenty (I doubt I have ever used more than 3gb, if that).

OP
T
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" MacBook Pro, iPhone 5
Awesome, thanks you guys! So, I'm heading toward 4GB RAM and 2.66Ghz. Can Anybody sway me at all?

Reaction score