Connecting new MBP with miniDP-HDMI adapter to HD monitor: Fuzzy Picture

Reaction score
Hello,

I am very new to Macs and also a brand new member to Mac Forums. I have a question in regards to connecting an external monito to my MacBook Pro and I hope you can help me out.

I am connecting a current generation 13" MBP (i5) awith a 22" Samsung HD monitor (Syncmaster P2270HD) via a miniDP-HDMI adapter and HDMI cable, I bought online. The connection works without a problem, i.e. the Mac recognises the Sycmaster when I go to Settings->Display. I can select the 1080p resolution that is native to the display and also select the sound output to be done via the Syncmaster. It all works. The problem is, however, that the picture quality is pretty horrible. Colors and resolution appear off and fonts are fuzzy and pixelated, definitely not 1080p quality.

My PC Laptop connected via a serial cable and lower resolution looks infinitely better.

What am I doing wrong?

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I'm guessing that the resolution that you have chosen for the external monitor is not it's native resolution...that's the #1 reason for a "fuzzy" looking display.

- Nick

OP
G
Reaction score
Hi Nick,

It's a 1080p HD monitor. So I am guessing that the 1080p option in the settings should be the native resolution. In any case I tried all the other options and also frequencies with no good result.

BTW: I also replaced the miniDP-HDM adapter and the HDMI cable. That didn't help either.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Some "1080P" monitors are 1920 x 1080 (16:9 ratio)...and some are 1920 x 1200 (16:10 ratio). Try both of these resolutions, and see if that helps.

If this doesn't help...maybe something is defective with the monitor.

- Nick

Reaction score