Macbook Pro - Hardware Upgrades Please respond! :)

Reaction score
Hi all,

I have a friends Macbook Pro 13" here. I'm a PC tech myself, and am not overly familiar with Macs.

He wants to upgrade to a 500GB HD (internal) and he wants to up his Memory, too.

basically, I'm wondering if a normal SATA notebook HD will fit and be compatible in a Macbook Pro? I've ordered a 500GB Hitachi Travelstar SATA 3.0Gbs? Can I just pop this into the Mac and be up and running? :)

I also need to know th same thing for the RAM. Can normal notebook RAM be alright in a Macbook Pro (The right type, of course)?

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
Hi all,

I have a friends Macbook Pro 13" here. I'm a PC tech myself, and am not overly familiar with Macs.

Good thing you're working on a PC. Intel Macs use commodity x86 hardware, wrapped in a pretty Apple package.

He wants to upgrade to a 500GB HD (internal) and he wants to up his Memory, too.

basically, I'm wondering if a normal SATA notebook HD will fit and be compatible in a Macbook Pro? I've ordered a 500GB Hitachi Travelstar SATA 3.0Gbs? Can I just pop this into the Mac and be up and running? :)

Pretty much. Clone the old drive to the new drive using something like SuperDuper or CarbonCopyCloner.

I also need to know th same thing for the RAM. Can normal notebook RAM be alright in a Macbook Pro (The right type, of course)?

Yep. I recommend Crucial.com or Otherworldcomputing.com.

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Yes, that kit appears to be compatible.

OP
K
Reaction score
re:

You also mentioned cloning the drive. How exactly do i go about this? Of course I can do a format with my eyes closed...but I would imagine the process on a macbook pro is different. Do i need any system discs or anything, after replacing the HD?

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Same bus speed and module type. I would imagine it would be OK.

cwa107