Mac OS X 10.5 installation disc

Reaction score
I'm a Mac newbie who recently bought an iBook G4 (PowerPC, 1.42GHz, 1GB memory). The OS installed on it is 10.5.8. However the person who sold it to me did not have the installation discs and said he would try to get them later. He now confirms he will not be able to get them.

I'm trying to buy an installation disc from ebay (for backup and possibly even a clean reinstall) and get prices ranging from around £5 to nearly £150. Do the £5 deals look ok? Are there things I should be aware of before buying? Would I need to buy iLife and Microsoft office separately (which are currently installed)?

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I'm a Mac newbie who recently bought an iBook G4 (PowerPC, 1.42GHz, 1GB memory). The OS installed on it is 10.5.8. However the person who sold it to me did not have the installation discs and said he would try to get them later. He now confirms he will not be able to get them.

I'm trying to buy an installation disc from ebay (for backup and possibly even a clean reinstall) and get prices ranging from around £5 to nearly £150.

You want "black" OS 10.5 install disks (not grey/gray disks)...these are model specific.

Of course you're getting prices ranging from around £5 to nearly £150. The £5 auction you linked still has 5+ days to go in the auction...I can guarantee you that it WILL NOT still be £5 5 days from now!:) £150 for an OS 10.5 install disk I would say is on the high side...and I would stay away from prices that high.

Here in the U.S. "black" OS 10.5 install disks are selling for around $100-$125 (US dollars).

HTH,

- Nick

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
alMB, 2.0C2D, 2GB, 500GB, SD, etc