macbook pro goes up to 80 Celsius playing Starcraft 2

Reaction score
I've got a Macbook Pro unibody. Purchased it a few months ago (Feb or Apr 2010). Running on Snow Leopard (10.6.4) 2.8 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4gb 1067 MHz DDR3 Ram.

I set the Macbook Pro for "Higher Perfomances" (System Preferences -> Energy Saver -> Higher performance), which I believe sets the video card to use the NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT (512 MB).

I started playing Starcraft 2 online and realised that iStatMenus reports the CPU temperature at 80 Celsius. Depending on the day. I can play for 3-4 hours straight. The game runs smoothly at medium settings and no delays at all. The top left part of the laptop gets hot. However, not hot enough to feel uncomfortable. The fans kicks in at 5000+ RPM. I understand that there's a forced shutdown fail-safe built in, in the event of extreme temperatures. If it's too hot the machine will just shut down. I am more concerned about having it run too hot and prematurely wear down components in the future. Should I be worried about this or should I put my trust in the machine and firmly believe that 80C is just fine for this task?

I know of smcFanControl (3rd party software). But havent had the need to use it since the fans are at appropriate speeds. Or is it not?

The post at this forum suggests, that this is normal. Even for other tasks (encoding and etc).
Are this temps normal (Macbook pro 13 - 2010) - Mac Forums

I could get a cooling pad to lower down the temperature a bit.

What are your thoughts?

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
What are your thoughts?

80°C is pretty warm...but probably not a problem. Other folks have reported 90+°C...and they're still around to talk about it!;)

- Nick

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
17" MBP C2D 2.8 4GB OS X 10.8 | iPhone 5