Need help configuring my G4

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" MacBook Pro i5 / 4GB / 250GB
Hey all.
New to mac 3 weeks now. I originally got a Power Mac G4 for free from a coworker. I had always been curious about mac, but the prices kept me away. Anyway the specs are as follows:
PPC 733Mhz 256kL2/1mbL3
1gb PC100 RAM (512x2)
Geforce 2MX 32mb AGP
60gb Western Digital
Zip 250
DVD-R/-RW drive
Airport ready, but not present
It only has one drive mount thing, missing several i/o backplates, and no mouse or keyboard. The star screws on one side that secure the plastic side to the chassis has all 4 screws missing.

I got it up and running with a retail version of 10.4.6, then upgraded to 10.4.11. Running Mac Office 2008. The main reason for it was to familiarize myself with mac (I have been a PC tech for 15 years) and for basic word processing as well as playing Runescape MMORPG.

The word processing is as expected, and Runescape is sluggish.

It ends up my 10 year old son really likes goofing off on the mac and playing runescape on it (even though he has a dual core system with a high end PCIe card in his room)

My son and I were bouncing around a few thrift stores and swap meets today, and picked up another G4 with the following specs:
Dual PPC 533Mhz 2x1mbL2
512mb PC100 RAM (256x2)
ATI Radeon 32mb AGP
20gb Maxtor
Zip 250
CD-R/-RW drive (no DVD read)
Airport ready, but not present

We were not sure that the G4 would work, but for $20 I could get enough parts out of it to complete my G4. Ends up the one purchaced today works just fine.

Now on to the actual question:

I want to combine the best hardware from both machines to make one good one for my son to play Runescape, and the leftovers for word processing. I can reinstall because I have office and Tiger DVDs, as well as, a stack of hard drives and DVD drives. What configuration do you suggest, and where can I get the wireless card to put in the slot behind the PCI slots?

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score