TOTAL Newbie

Reaction score
TOTAL Newbie - Need WiFi assistance (AT&T)

I just got my first (used) Mac, but still kept my PC just in case I needed some help getting used to the Mac.

It is a Powerbook, Tiger software, in immaculate condition

Well, I am now on my PC because I cannot get my Mac connected to my AT&T WiFi.

I KNOW I will have a ton of questions, but I do need to get connected first to find out what they are.

HELP!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro | LED Cinema Display | iPhone 4 | iPad 2
You'll need to give a little more detail.

Where are you trying to connect to AT&T's WiFi? What happens when you try to connect? Are you able to connect to WiFi anywhere else?

Also, as a tip, please use more descriptive headlines. "Total Newbie" doesn't really help people know what you want. You'll get more help, more quickly by being specific in your subject line.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac * 2.8 Ghz Intel Core i7 * 16GB 1333 Mhz DDR3 * 1TB HD *AMD Radeon HD 6770M 512 MB
+1 about more specific thread titles.

As for the wifi question, is Airport turned on? Airport is Apple's built in wireless card. If it's off, it won't detect any wifi signals. If it is, it will give you a list of all available signals. Then you just click on one and enter a password.

Try opening Airport Utility and setting it up. You can search for it in Spotlight, the little magnifying glass icon at the top right of your menu bar. (Pressing Command+spacebar also reveals Spotlight.)

OP
P
Reaction score
You'll need to give a little more detail.

Where are you trying to connect to AT&T's WiFi? What happens when you try to connect? Are you able to connect to WiFi anywhere else?

Also, as a tip, please use more descriptive headlines. "Total Newbie" doesn't really help people know what you want. You'll get more help, more quickly by being specific in your subject line.