New guy here... please help!

Reaction score
Hi again...

So I'll try wording this a little more vaguely so I don't get banned for mentioning illegal things. Though I should mention that torrenting any software in Canada (where I live) is not illegal, and not a punishable offense, as it is illegal for for our ISP's to give out any information about their clients' downloads. Just an FYI for any moderators here.

ANYWAYS.

Let's just say I bought this software so far...

- VMware Fusion
- Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit
- Office 2008 for Mac
- Office 2010 for Microsoft
- ESET Smart Security for Windows 7 partition

Is there any software or fixes you guys would recommend I do right off the bat? I've had my MacBook for just about over a day now. I'm a small IT business owner, so I haven't had too many problems learning the new OS, it's just the programs I need to get familiar with.

- S

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21.5" iMac i5 2.9 Ghz, 15" MBPro i7 2.0 Ghz, iPhone 5, iPhone 4s, ATV2, ATV3, iPad2, iPad Mini
Torrenting Software in Canada is not illegal?
Where did you read that?
I think your mistaken.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro | LED Cinema Display | iPhone 4 | iPad 2
Hi again...

So I'll try wording this a little more vaguely so I don't get banned for mentioning illegal things. Though I should mention that torrenting any software in Canada (where I live) is not illegal, and not a punishable offense, as it is illegal for for our ISP's to give out any information about their clients' downloads. Just an FYI for any moderators here.

Just an FYI, we follow US law on this board. We're pretty clear about that.

At Mac-Forums, we do not allow discussion of illegal activity. Period.

The Community Guidelines state:

Respect copyrights and the law.