Prepping to Sell

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2010 MBP | 15" 2.4 GHz i5, 4GB
I'm selling my iMac soon in favor of a nice, new (well, refurbished) MBP. I have a question though about erasing my data.

I want to get rid of essentially all of my data on the machine, but I want to make sure the iLife suite is kept on it for the next user. Any way to do this? IIRC, I did not get a disk with the iLife suite on it when I got this machine, although I may not remember correctly. I've never done this before, but I assume that when I wipe/erase my disc it will get rid of everything any not conveniently leave iPhoto and the like.

Also, if anyone has any tips for prepping the machine for sale it would be appreciated. Thanks.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver
Do you have the original restore disk or Snow Leopard disk.

If so you can do an erase and install. You can download the demo of iLife and install that, so that the new user will get a new install, and the 30 day trial of iLife as well.

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
Another thing you can try is to create a new user account. Then, go back and secure erase your old user account. That should do the trick without having to go through too much headache reinstalling or tracking down discs.

OP
MikeIsGood
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Thanks guys.

I actually just found out/remembered/realized (not sure which ;) ) that iLife comes on the OS disc that comes with the system, so if I wipe this and re-install Snow Leopard (I'm going to give them my copy of SL since it's coming with my machine anyways) I should be able to reinstall the iLife suite from that disc using the packaged software installation, correct? Or can I only do that if I install Leopard (which is what the machine came with)?

Really appreciate the help!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
1.8 GHz i7 MBA 11" OSX 10.8.2