ibook boot issues

Reaction score
Hi

I'm a newbie to this forum, so I hope someone can help!

I have a much loved ibook 14" (late 2004??). It has just died. Well, in so much as it won't boot up. The ibook either gets as far as the apple screen and hangs, gets to the login screen and hangs, actually loads up finder etc and hangs or none of the above.

After lots of research online over the past few days I tried the following: I have tried safe mode (not working), starting the command prompt screen (single user and verbose modes), started open firmware, and tried booting from a CD. Nothing works as the boot gets so far then hangs. I have flashed the PRam, resetted the NVRam, and have stopped short of opening up the case to dismantle it!

I just really want to access the hard drive now. I have tried Target disk mode and linked the ibook (pressing T) via firewire to a PowerPC G5, but the G5 doesn't recognise the ibook. System profiler shows the target mode working fine via firewire, just the icon for the ibook/target doesnt mount on the desktop so I cant access it.

Does the ibook have an actual PRam battery that can be replaced? Maybe this is an issue?

Does anyone have any suggestions?
I'll buy you a pint.

Please help!
Thanks!

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Even though you can "sort of" boot the computer...it could still be a hard drive issue...but since you said that the iBook couldn't boot from the CD...that could indicate another problem (assuming the CD you're using is compatible with this computer).

What sort of boot CD are you using?

Thanks,

- Nick

OP
I
Reaction score
Hi thanks for replying.

Currently the boot freezes within a couple of minutes, usually on the apple screen, though i have once or twice got as far as logging in and seeing all my icons/programs before it stalls. I therefore hope one day i can still access the files!