Opinions on Switching to and iMac and iPad Setup

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21.5" iMac, 3.6 Intel i5 w/ 4MB L3 cache, 8GB RAM, ATI Radeon HD 5670 ---- 16 GB iPad w/ 3G
Hi, I'm a mathematics and engineering student and debating on which model of Mac to buy (yes, Im sure you get millions of these threads lol). My 6 year old Dell Inspirion is on its last legs and I want to get a new setup before it entirely gives out; Im entirely and completely sick of PCs and Windows in general. My first impression was to get a MacBook Pro, but upon further research I think I'm going to go the iMac/iPad combo route. Now when I'm using this at school (the iMac only.... Im well aware the iPad is just for "consuming" media and not creating), I use it for ALOT of document processing, ALOT of spreadsheets, extensive internet research and Facebook procrastination lol, Photoshop, video and audio encoding, ALOT of music play and mixing, some movie watching, and plan on playing Doom 3. Is this model Im looking at overkill, or about right? Any opinions on this?

21.5" iMac
3.33 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo w/ 6MB L2 cache (the extra cache is worth the upgrade IMO and may as well get the better processor while Im spending the money)
4 GB RAM (will upgrade to 8GB in the future, but not needed right now)
1 TB 7200rpm harddrive
ATI Radeon HD 4670 graphics card upgrade

am I overdoing it, or am I right on the money? I know I want the graphics card, but I guess the biggest question is the processor..... I know I probably will never notice a difference, but at least I know thered be a better processor in it and could 'extend' its longevity in terms of being technologically relevant by a little margin

Thanks, first Mac experience so Im in the dark

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
Depending on what your budget is..the iMac you've chosen is a very good one and will do everything you want to do quite well..