upgrading an old mac laptop

Reaction score
hello all - (TOTAL NEWBIE HERE)

i have an old laptop running:

mac ox x version 10.4.11
900 mhz PowerPC G3

is it possible to upgrade this old laptop OS to something more recent? and if so, where would be the best place to buy a new OS? or can i download it?

(and please dont just suggest a new laptop)

again, total newbie here....

thanks,
mark

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
An older Mac laptop with a 900mhz cpu is sort of a borderline case from an OS perspective. 10.4 is probably the "speediest" OS to run on your Mac laptop. You could update to OS 10.5 (Apple's minimum cpu speed required for 10.5 is 867mhz)...so your 900mhz just barely qualifies.

I was running OS 10.5 on a 933mhz iBook...and it seemed ok "speed-wise"...so you would probably be ok with 10.5.

As far as where to get 10.5. e-Bay or Craig's List...and expect to pay $100 or more for it (not a cheap upgrade). FYI...a 900mhz Mac laptop is probably worth around $150 bucks (maybe $200 on a good day)...so paying $100+ for an OS upgrade is a lot for that computer.

You may be best off sticking with the OS you have.

Hope this helps,

- Nick

OP
Mark Edwards
Reaction score
hello nick -

thank you for kindly answering my question... lotsa forums like to make fun of the newbies.

our business depends on a java app load successfully. this java app:

Vimas technologies - Audio Recording Applet SDK

does not run on our my old clunker mac. the company who wrote the java app told me my mac OS was too old.

really, i am not a mac person (surprise!) and i just bought this old junker laptop to "test" how websites will look and run on a mac.

but it sounds like you are telling me either to buy a new(er) mac or spring $100 for a new(er) OS?

hmmm - wish there was a cheaper option..... ideas?

thanks, mark

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
12" Apple PowerBook G4 (1.5GHz)