Photo Folders & Aperture

Reaction score
Hello. I'm new to Aperture. I had all my photos in neatly organized folders (labeled and with dates). I imported them into Aperture and now any time I want to view an image, the only way I can do so is to open the application. I have everything backed up but I was just wondering if there is a way to export those folders back into my photo folder as aliases or something so I can view/edit them without having to use Aperture?

Thank you for your help in advance.

Scott

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro | LED Cinema Display | iPhone 4 | iPad 2
In Aperture, the best thing you can probably do is when you import your files, choose Store Files: In their current location rather than In the Aperture library.

content

Aperture.png

OP
F
Reaction score
In Aperture, the best thing you can probably do is when you import your files, choose Store Files: In their current location rather than In the Aperture library.

content

Aperture.png

OK, restoring folders with Time Machine, then deleting aperture library and will re-import using those settings. I had a feeling that was the answer. Thanks.

OP
F
Reaction score
iPhoto and Aperture

Schweb, thanks for the info.

OK, I restored my folders with Time Machine. Another query for you...

Is there any reason of benefit to have both iPhoto and Aperture libraries? If so, when I add photos to my library (which I keep extraordinarily organized in my pictures folder), will iPhoto and Aperture update the added files I add to those folders in my pictures folder?

Does that make sense?

Thanks again!

Scott

OP
F
Reaction score
Ps

Haven't imported into Aperture yet... I did with iPhoto (don't know why I did).

Cheers

OP
F
Reaction score
Folders, Importing Aperture

I have many folders in my Pictures Folder (all organized into date, events and such).

I am new to Aperture and would like to know the following: