iBook won't load OS

Reaction score
I am new to Mac, so please bear with me if I tend to slip into Windows thinking here and there. I have a iBook G4 14" that was not working when I received it and I was told the hard drive had crashed. I replaced the hard drive and now when I power up to load OS X from a valid install disk, I get a small flashing folder. If I hold down the C key while powering up, I get a circular arrow on the left side of the screen and a right arrow on the right side of the screen. The cursor is active, but yields no results when I click on either arrow. I can hear the CD drive spinning like it is trying to start up, then nothing.

I do not know what any of these icons mean, and so far have had no luck searching forums. I'm hoping to get an idea from these symptoms whether or not the logic board is failing, or if there are other areas I should pursue.

Thanks.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I replaced the hard drive and now when I power up to load OS X from a valid install disk, I get a small flashing folder.

Having a "valid" install disk may not be enough. If the disk is gray colored...it probably won't work with your iBook...and/or...if you're trying to install an OS version that's not compatible with the iBook...that could also be the problem.

So basically...you need to give us more details on this install disk you're using.

- Nick

OP
R
Reaction score
Thanks for the reply, Nick. Sorry, I used the term valid to mean they are OEM disks. The OS X install disk I am using (actually 2 disks) is Mac OS X v10.2. They are white with a large leopard skin X on them. I bought them from Apple and used them to reinstall the OS on a MacBook laptop, so just assumed they would be OK for this one. If that may be the problem, can you direct me to the correct install disk or version?

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs