iMac and Windows 7 64-bit

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 21.5", Intel Core 2 Duo, 8GB, Mavericks10.9.1; Macbook Pro 13", Intel Dual-core 2.66GHz 8GB, Ma
I am new to Macs. I purchased an iMac under the impression it was a 64-bit system, hardware and software, and that I could install Windows 7 64-bit using bootcamp. After purchasing I find I am unable to - my local Apple store tells me it is not possible at this time but that Apple is working on software modifications to accomodate a 64-bit operating system. Does anyone know if Apple actually is working on the above modifications and if so when will they be released?

Reaction score
Bootcamp already supports 64 bit OS. I am running Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit on my MacBook Pro.

I am new to Mac as well, but the only thing I could think of is possibly your Mac doesn't have a 64 Bit CPU... I find that hard to believe, though. What are the specs of your model?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini i5 (2014 High Sierra), iPhone X, Apple Watch, iPad Pro 12.9, AppleTV (4)
OP
D
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 21.5", Intel Core 2 Duo, 8GB, Mavericks10.9.1; Macbook Pro 13", Intel Dual-core 2.66GHz 8GB, Ma
Thanks for your suggestions

I will update and read the information in the suggested websites.

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
My 2008 vintage MBP runs 64-bit Windows 7 just fine. Can you give us some more specific details on what drivers you're missing?

OP
D
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Unable to update Boot Camp

I will update and read the information in the suggested websites.

System has Boot Camp 3.0.1, when I click on Apple - Software Update, it reports, after checking for new software, "software update does not have any new software for your computer at this time". Yet Boot Camp 3.0.1 remains. Is there anyway to force it to update to Boot Camp 3.1 ? I have a recent iMac 21.5" with Snow Leopard OS 10.6.3. Any help would be appreciated.: