application folder on dock

Reaction score
hi i am a newbie on mac, i deleted my applications folder from the dock by mistake i used finder to get the folder back i dragged it back onto the dock but it has come up with the address book symbol but it does say applications when i put the mouse over it and all my applications are in the folder how do i put the correct symbol back on it many thanks in advance for any help or ideas xx:

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MB061LL/B & iPhone4
welcome, right-click and choose "Folder"...

OP
O
Reaction score
thanks for the welcome and swift reply do i right click on the folder in the dock, its so different to windows lol

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
What do you mean "nothing happens"? Right click should bring up a menu where you can then choose how you wish the folder to be displayed. Where did you place the folder on the dock? Did you place it to the right of the separator mark or to the left? It has to placed on the right.

Also, please do not crosspost.

Regards.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MB061LL/B & iPhone4
thanks for the welcome and swift reply do i right click on the folder in the dock, its so different to windows lol

you're welcome..

add to my reputation... the little green square's getting lonely :}

OP
O
Reaction score
many thanks guys for all your help i am work now but tomorrow i will try again. when i right click on the icon in the dock i dont get any options nothing happens at all.
do i have right click and hold for so long.
thanks again i am sure i will master a mac soon :)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini (Late 2014) 2.6GHz Intel Core i5 Memory: 8GB 1600MHz DDR3
many thanks guys for all your help i am work now but tomorrow i will try again. when i right click on the icon in the dock i dont get any options nothing happens at all.
do i have right click and hold for so long.