Switching from Photoshop Elements PC to Mac

Reaction score
Hi everyone, another Mac newbie here. The rot started with an iPod touch, next thing it was an AppleTV, then I somehow found myself in a queue on launch day for an iPad... and now I'm here, a proud new iMac owner! :Cool:

Anyway on with my question...

I've been a PC Photoshop Elements user for many, many years. I was using PE8 on my old PC and have bought the exact same version for my iMac. Can someone please advise how to best transfer over my entire 60Gb catalogue of photos to my iMac - without losing my tags and keywords? It's taken me years to build up my albums and get to a point where I can search my entire catalogue for a person or place and find everything instantly - there's no way I can re-enter all that info again!

Many thanks,

Steve

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
1.8 GHz i7 MBA 11" OSX 10.8.2
PE8 on PC uses a new organizer - whereas PE8 on Mac uses Adobe Bridge.
Adobe Photoshop Elements 8 Review - ComputerShopper.com
Photoshop Elements 8 is also available for Mac OS X. It's a more significant upgrade for users of that platform, since Adobe skipped Version 7 on the Mac. The editor is nearly identical between the Windows and Mac versions, other than tweaks to fit the Mac interface. The Mac version, however, doesn't include the Organizer module, but instead ships the Bridge CS4 graphics browser that's included with Photoshop CS4. This is an excellent image manager by itself, but it lacks the automatic tagging feature, face recognition, and backup/synchronization found in Organizer.
I have not had to do a transfer yet - but you may be missing some features when you use bridge vs what the organizer did on PC. Not the greatest news I know. I think the tags should stay with the photos but there is no guarantee as I don't know what the database organizer uses.